Grand Est

Grand Est is to be the new name for the new region (2016) of Alsace-Champagne-Ardenne-Lorraine which includes the départements of Ardennes, Aube, Bas-Rhin, Haute-Marne, Haut-Rhin, Marne, Meurthe-et-Moselle, Meuse, Moselle, Vosges.

The name was chosen after a vote by residents of the region, and is technically to be approved by the central government.

This is just one of the new metropolitan regions formed by the amalgamation of previous regions, reducing the number from 22 to 13.


Grand Est

Grand Est mapOn the eastern border of France across the Rhine from Germany and backed by the edge of the Vosges mountains – famous for its pretty villages and its wines.

The new Region will be known as:

Grand Est

Departements of the new (2016) Alsace-Champagne-Ardenne-Lorraine Region – capital: StrasbourgGrand Est logo

08 Ardennes

10 Aube

68 Haut Rhin

67 Bas Rhin

52 Haute-Marne

51 Marne

55 Meuse

54 Meurthe-et-Moselle

57 Moselle

88 Vosges

See more about the region:

Map of new French Regions 2016: